Change is the Spice of Life

As I write this, I am coming up on my last week of teaching kindergarten.  I am amazed at how quickly this year has gone!  I pursued and accepted this position with joy and high expectations… mostly expectations of ME as a teacher.  Looking back, I see that my expectations of myself- as usual- were very high.

If I were to sum up this school year, I would have to call it a year of change.  During the school year, I lost a couple kids… I gained a couple kids… I changed how I did things… I changed the desks around several times…  I changed my tolerance of acceptable classroom noise level… I even changed classrooms when a leak made itself known by pouring down water from one of our ceiling lights.

The good news is, I love change.  I thrive on change.  Change keeps me on my toes and makes me re-evaluate how I do things.  Change keeps me from collecting too much “stuff”.  Change forces me to grow as a person and as a teacher.  Change keeps me from growing complacent.  I know a lot of people who don’t like change, but as far back as I can remember, change has been an integral part of my life.

We moved a lot when I was a kid. I remember that feeling of excitement I’d get when I found out we were moving to a new house. I’d happily start packing up my things, getting rid of things I had outgrown or just didn’t want, and lovingly sorting out the things that meant something to me. Most of my personal stuff fit into one big box.

I loved getting used to a new house… learning the layout and discovering its secrets. I loved arranging my new room to suit my tastes.

If I had it my way, I would move every couple years… minus the escrow hassles and loan fees. Not to mention, packing up a house is a whole lot more work than packing up a boxful of childhood treasures. Still, I would do it. Why? Because I like change.

Where am I going with this?  I don’t really know, except to say I am thankful that I got to satisfy the part of me that needs to experience temporary chaos.  The kind of chaos I can fix, organize, and simplify.

I don’t know what the next school year will hold, other than I am slotted to teach fourth grade (but like all jobs these days, there is no guarantee of anything).   Do I want another year of change?  I don’t think so.  I’d rather have changes in other areas of my life and that will be fine with me.  But then, I’ll take on whatever life throws at me.

Bring it!

Leave a Reply

