The Invention that Made Me a Better Person

I don’t know who invented the little green thing that goes into the sip hole of the Starbucks cups, but that person is responsible for making me a better friend.  You see, before the invention of that little plastic stick of goodwill , I would do pretty much anything to not be the one left with the undesirable task of going on a coffee-run.  As soon as any discussion with friends or coworkers looked like it was going to involve We need coffee.  Who wants to do a coffee run? I would frantically start thinking of reasons why that person couldn’t possibly be me.  Sometimes my car was out of gas.  Sometimes it was that my wrist was suffering some mysterious ailment, making it impossible for me to carry six cups of anything at one time.  Sometimes I would simply try to make myself invisible.

Image

I know- selfish!  I am duly ashamed.

It’s not that I didn’t want to be the kind of friend who would go to Starbucks, stand in line, order six drinks in various sizes & odd customizations, endure the angry stares of the people waiting behind me as they realize I am the embodiment of six customers in one, and the embarrassment of handing the Barista an assortment of partially used Starbucks cards to cover everyone’s order.  I really did want to be that friend!

It’s just that I just couldn’t stand having the coffee slosh out of that little sip hole en route from Starbucks to its final destination.  No matter how careful I was, it would find a way to splosh.  It would splatter on my hands, drip on my pants, splash onto the seat of my car, and leave the once pristine plastic lid looking like I went for a jog while juggling hot cups of coffee.

But no more.  With the invention of something as simple as a green plastic stick, I can step up to the coffee-run plate and be the friend I always wanted to be.  While I don’t jump up and down saying, “Pick me!  Pick me!” when someone suggests a group coffee purchase, I no longer wish the ground would open up and swallow me whole to keep from being the obligated chosen one.

Thank you, inventor of the little, green, plastic coffee stopper.  I don’t know who you are, but you have changed me for the better.  For that, I will always be grateful.Image

One thought on “The Invention that Made Me a Better Person

Leave a Reply

