A is for Age

AI recently signed up to participate in a blogging challenge called “Blogging from A-Z”.  Each day, except Sundays, I’m supposed to blog about something that starts with the letter that corresponds to that day of the month.

Anyway, without further ado, I present to you my topic for the day:

A is for Age

There is no way to avoid it. It happens to everyone– everyday we age.  Until we die, that is.  I often find myself shocked that I’m as “aged” as I am.  Not that I’m ancient, mind you. Although, if you’re reading this and you are twenty-one, I suppose forty-four might seem old.

Four days ago I was the tender age of 43 (my birthday was on Sunday), so being 44 is new to me. I’m not sure what a 44 year old woman is supposed to look like or act like, but I know I’m not what I envisioned 44 to be when I was in my twenties.  I pictured my forty-something year old self as sophisticated, graceful, and somehow… taller.  I’m none of those things.

I still make up silly songs.  I still can’t dance. I still laugh when someone talks about the planet Uranus.  I still can’t resist fuzzy things. I still have no sense of fashion. And I’m still 5’4″. That’s just who I have always been and probably who I’ll always be.

Age is all in your mind. A while back I concluded that is a true statement.  Sure, sometimes my body tries to remind me of my age, but I usually ignore it.  Sometimes I look in the mirror and see a new wrinkle here and there. People often tell me I look younger than my age, so I try not to let the wrinkles bother me. When they do start to bother me enough, I have no qualms about getting in line to receive the latest injections available to correct them.

So, what is age?  It’s a social construct.  A measurement of time.  When I was young, it was all about being one year closer to being able to drive, a year closer to be able to move out of my parent’s house, and another year closer to the legal drinking age. Now each birthday is just a day to get gifts, do what I want, to have an excuse to say to my kids, “Get your own lunch.  It’s my birthday.”

Age.  It may be not be avoidable, but it doesn’t have to be an affliction.

 

 

7 thoughts on “A is for Age

  1. I think it’s interesting that when we think about ourselves getting older and answering the one question “where do you see yourself in 20 years”, we all automatically picture ourselves as adults and we imagine that our life is somewhat going to to change drastically from what we are now. But I think that it’s more becoming a more drastic version of the person we’ve always been. I don’t mean becoming crazy or anything haha, but just more! It’s so true too, when you were talking about being younger and being one year closer to this or that. I’m only 18 and I’m already thinking, hey, it’s just another year! 🙂 great post!

  2. I’ll be celebrating 44 myself this year. Since I’ve always liked the number 4, I hopeful this will be a good year. Age has caught up with me too. I just entered the wonder world of bifocals, but in reality, it means I can see long distance again with stronger contacts, but must wear reading glasses for books. For the computer? I just rev up the font size and I’m good to go. What really blows my mind is that when my mother was my age, she and my dad dropped me off at college for my freshman year. I, having started a family later in life, have two grade schoolers. I know I’m not young, but I certainly don’t feel old–unless you count the morning after a particularly vigourous workout!

    1. I hope the double 4s make 44 your best year ever! I am amazed by my friends who are my age who have kids in college. I mean, didn’t we just get out of college ourselves? I personally think having kids later in life keeps you young. 😉

  3. One of the oddest experiences I had with age was when I reached the age my father was when he died (47). I remember him as being so confident and competent and wise and able to handle whatever life threw at him. Yet at the same age, I felt doubtful, uncertain and too aware of my limits. Then it hit me that he and probably had a lot more in common than my childish perception allowed. Wonderful post. Happy A-to-Z challenge from FidoConfidential.

    1. I had a similar experience… my mom walked out on us when I was very young. She recently passed away and I never really knew her. As I age, I see her as more of a person with insecurities, self-doubt, and her own flaws who couldn’t handle the life she was living. Not that that makes it OK, but I feel more forgiving and sympathetic towards her. I, too, have my flaws and insecurities. Even though I would die or kill before I’d leave my kids, I understand her a little better.

  4. I wrote about age for A, too, and I’m surprised how similar my post is to yours! I’m 26, by the way, so doesn’t that make the point we set out to make? 😀

Leave a Reply

