D is for Distraction

Image

I am easily distracted.  I probably would have been diagnosed with ADD when I was a child, if it had been as widely known back then as it is now. It hasn’t exactly been a problem for me now that I’m an adult, but it can be annoying at times.  As a teacher, I find there are some classroom noises that distract me to the point of major irritation.

I have quite a few kids this year that hum.  Constantly. I understand their desire to hum and I don’t think they do it on purpose. One of these days, I’m going to have to count the number of times I hear myself say something like, “When we reduce fractions– please stop humming— we need to find the greatest common factor. After that , divide– stop humming— the numerator and denominator by the– whoever is humming, please stop— er, what was I saying…?”

Then there are the desk drummers.  I have a few of those this year.  Sometimes pencils become drumsticks.  If not pencils, hands work well, too. The drumming is less annoying than the hummers because I can immediately pinpoint where the noise is coming from and address the offending percussionist directly.

Foot tappers fall into the same category as the desk drummers.  They can be a little more difficult to identify, but not as difficult as the hummers.  I don’t have many foot tappers this year, fortunately.

There are also the water bottle crumplers– a big NO in my class! That just makes me mean. It doesn’t matter what I’m doing– the second I hear the crumpling of a water bottle, I lose all concentration. I reserve my most severe teacher glare for those who crumple their water bottles. As a result, it doesn’t happen often in my classroom.

I wish I could be one of those teachers who doesn’t notice the hummers, drummers, tappers, and crumplers.  But I do.

Distraction– it isn’t just for students anymore.

 

5 thoughts on “D is for Distraction

  1. I have three personalities: The first is the normal me, which usually does the most work at work. I pay attention to what I need to and I’m usually not distracted unless its something serious. The second is the oblivious me, which usually takes place in conversations. I’ll completely miss jokes or puns and ignore everything else to focus on who I’m talking to… Unless I’m hyper, which is me number three. If I’m hyper, I have the attention span of a gnat and the memory of a mentally handicapped goldfish. It’s frightening, actually. I’ve gotten to the point where I would just bounce up and down while attempting to speak but EVERYTHING would distract me and I would forget what I was saying… I don’t drink coffee drinks any more. Every so often, I’ll have sweet tea at a restaurant and it’ll happen, but that’s rare now.

  2. Dude! I know what you mean. If I have to tell a kid “four on the floor” one more time I’m going to make everyone sit on the floor from now on. And kids need to stop saying shut up. Since when is that okay? I’m venting a little bit here, forgive me. I can’t blame them for drumming though, I do that every chance I get. Born percussionists can’t help it. We’ve got the music in us.

Leave a Reply

