J is for Jealousy

J

Day 10 of the A-Z Blogger Challenge
J is for Jealousy

I rarely get jealous, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have jealous moments from time to time. Jealousy is so ugly and destructive! It results in anger, hatred, manipulation, and in some cases, violence. The times I find myself getting jealous, I am amazed at how quickly I can dislike someone… even if I don’t know them. When I let jealousy stick around for a bit, it creates in ME someone I don’t like.

For me, it helps to take a step back and be honest with myself about why I might be jealous. Is it because I’m comparing myself to that other person? Is it because someone has something I just can’t have? Is it because I feel insecure and inadequate? Once I know what is making me feel jealous, I try to reason with myself and work my way out of my funk. Sometimes it helps to get to know the person I’m jealous of because I usually find out a couple things– first of all, what I think I’m jealous about is really nothing worth being jealous about. Secondly, I often find that I actually like the person.

There are a lot of great quotes about jealousy. Here are some of them:

  • “The jealous are troublesome to others, but a torment to themselves.” ~ William Penn
  • “Like hatred, jealousy is forbidden by the laws of life because it is essentially destructive.” ~ Alexis Carrel
  • “Jealousy is all the fun you think they had.”~ Erica Jong
  • “You can be the moon and still be jealous of the stars.”~ Gary Allen

Jealousy has been around since the beginning of time.  Where there are people, jealousy will exist. I just hope that as I live and grow, I will see less of it in myself.

2 thoughts on “J is for Jealousy

  1. I’m rarely seriously jealous. Maybe a slight “I wish I had that shirt” or “They’re hair is so much prettier than mine” sort of feeling, but it passed quickly. I think I’ve only been seriously jealous one time and that was with a female that my boyfriend is friends with. He’s even friends with and I don’t mind but her? I think part of my problem was that she was rude to me and openly flirted with him in front of me, which made him uncomfortable when he realized I was about two seconds from picking her up by her hair and tossing her out of the apartment. I didn’t even have to say anything and he either doesn’t talk to her at all, or very rarely does now. I completely trust him. But her? Not a chance. I suppose separating jealousy from distrust is what would be best.

  2. Great post! I find that very often, I’m only jealous of people who don’t deserve to have bad things thought about them. You can justify not liking certain people or being put off by their attitude, but jealously usually springs up in relation to people who are like you, but better in some ways. Whenever I do get jealous (and like you, it’s not often), I try and think about how I can incorporate their better qualities in myself, rather than begrudge them for having it in the first place.

Leave a Reply

