A is for Authors

A[1]A is for Authors

I love my little world of independent authors. Some are friends and some are clients… and many I consider to be both.

Social media has made it easy to connect with many independent authors, and what I’ve found is most of them are down-to-earth, humble, friendly people.

There are those who don’t think of independent authors as “real” writers because they aren’t published by one of the big-name publishing houses. I admit, I have read some pretty crappy self-published books, but there also is a lot of talent out there.

Many independent authors’ e-books are free, on Kindle Unlimited, or are much less expensive than the traditionally published authors. I had the “what have I got to lose” mentality when I downloaded my first few free books on Amazon. In return, I’ve been introduced to a whole new world of authors and genres.

I encourage you to check out some independent authors… you might be pleasantly surprised.

12343523_l

6 thoughts on “A is for Authors

  1. I suppose I read about 4 to 1 in favour of indie authors these days, but that may be because I spend most of my time online! In general, I think the indies are better story tellers, although the traditionally published may be ‘smarter’. As for typos… way more likely to have poor formatting and proofing in a trad published book converted to kindle, in my experience.

    Nice to see you AtoZing again 🙂

    Jemima

  2. Indie authors are awesome! I know tons of them, and hope to be one someday as well. Even traditionally published authors are trying it out in order to be more well-rounded publishing-wise, which is always good. Happy A-Zing!

  3. I really enjoyed catching up on your blog today. I’ve thought about you several times during the past year, but unfortunately never saw one of your posts in my reader. I had my own significant trials this past year (not to the same extent as yours, but my dad unexpectedly passed away in Sept and I can relate to the grief). Anyway, it was good to catch up and I’m eager for more of what you have to write this month. Glad to connect again!

    1. Thank you, Paige. I’m so sorry to learn about your dad. 😦 It is not easy to lose a parent. It’s good to be “back.” I’ve missed reading and writing here.

Leave a Reply

