F is for Fear

FF is for Fear

For the most part, I am a brave person; I always have been. Everyone is afraid of something, though, and I am no exception. For example:

  • I used to trail run alone and then one of our local girls made national news when she was assaulted and killed while running the same trails I ran. I now fear being alone where there are places for people to hide and potentially hurt me.
  • I’m not afraid of heights… unless my kids are with me. The thought of one of them getting too close to the edge of a ledge, ridge, or cliff makes me panic.
  • I never used to be afraid to die… until I had kids. Now the thought of leaving them for any reason horrifies me.

Healthy Fears

Some fear is healthy. Fear keeps us from doing stupid things… like playing with rattlesnakes, breeding black widows in the closet, and using port-o-potties.

Irrational Fears

Some fear is irrational. My irrational fears are:

  • Storm drains. You know, the kind along the curb? I go out of my way to avoid stepping over those. When I have to, I break out in a cold sweat, my heart rate increases, and I can hardly breathe. Why? I don’t know.
  • Dirty restrooms. And yes, port-o-potties are included in this category. I literally have nightmares about having to use dirty restrooms.
  • Clowns. Okay, maybe this isn’t an irrational fear. Unless you’re a clown, of course.
  • Dolls. I hate them; I know they hate me too and will kill me when they get the chance.

Facing Fears

I’m a firm believer that some fears need to be faced head on. It’s hard to beat the feeling of overcoming fears—it’s exhilarating! Sometimes it’s best to expose yourself to your fear just to show that there was no reason to be afraid. It’s very empowering. Does that mean I’m going to jump into a storm drain that is filled with clown-dolls and requires that I use a port-o-potty to hide from said clown-dolls when they chase me with their sharp teeth and bloody claws? Oh, heck no! What it does mean is that when I fall, I get back up and try again. It means when I want to do something, I try to not let fear hold me back… like writing, snorkeling, and mountain biking.

Fear. We all fear something. Fear can protect. It can hold us back. Some fears are silly to other people. Some are shared. Sometimes facing them can reap invaluable rewards.

What are some of your fears?

6 thoughts on “F is for Fear

  1. I have many fears, most of which are probably irrational. One of my favorite Bible verses to quote when I am feeling fearful is Psalm 56:3. It simply says, “When I am afraid, I will trust in You.”

    1. One of my favorites is Joshua 1:9—Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. The whole book of Joshua is awesome! 😀

    2. I’m the same, and sadly, tend to go through life limited by these irrational fears. I need to constantly remind myself that God is so much bigger and more powerful than anything we may encounter! Another verse I love is Romans 8:15: “For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!””

  2. Breaking down on a road in the middle of nowhere…at night….while I’m all alone.
    And as far as your fear of storm drains and clowns, ever read “It” by Stephen King?

    1. The idea of breaking down in the dark all alone creeps me out too. And yes, I have read IT. Funny thing is, I was afraid of storm drains and clowns years before that book was published. I think Stephen King is a master at knowing what scares people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

