G is for Garnet Ghost Town

I’m a few days behind on the A-Z Challenge. I spent the weekend in Vegas and well… here I am again!

G is for Garnet Ghost Town

I was skimming through my Facebook account this evening, wasting time, when I saw this post from The Missoulian paper based out of Missoula, Montana.

Garnet Ghost Town Seeks Volunteer Resident

552c593bbda7a.preview-699
Photo Credit Bob Wick/BLM

People who know me in real life, know that I am crazy about Montana. It’s the first place I’d move if given the chance to relocate. I look at the photograph to the right and I see paradise. Hopefully you’ll read the article since I went through all the effort of making the link to it (click the photo), but if you’re like me and would rather have the condensed version of most newspaper articles, here’s the summary with a little added background:

Garnet was established in the mid-1860s, when gold and silver was discovered in this little valley, forty miles east of Missoula. At its peak, there were about 1,000 people in the valley and it was a thriving boom town. By 1905 only 150 people remained. In 1912, many of the miners had moved on and fire destroyed most of the town’s buildings. It was revived slightly during the Great Depression but was deserted soon after.

Now it is a preserved historical site and managed by the Bureau of Land Management. During August and September, the site opens up to tourists and school groups. The ghosts of the Garnet Ghost Town aren’t very reliable, I guess, because the BLM is looking for a volunteer to stay on site, guide tourists, sell souvenirs, and do some light maintenance when required.

A cabin is provided, but there is no electricity, wi-fi, or running water. The cabin is equipped with a propane stove and refrigerator and the position comes with a small food stipend.

What do you think? Would you do it?

6 thoughts on “G is for Garnet Ghost Town

Leave a Reply

