I is for Impetuous

I is for Impetuous

I try to be honest with myself when it comes to my own faults and shortcomings. For the most part, I am an easygoing, patient person, but there have been times when I’ve reacted out of anger, fear, or pain. Usually these incidences occur 1896728_10152770251447776_3104906129677324187_nwhen I’m overly stressed, overly tired, or feeling insecure.

Impetuous means to react hastily and passionately; usually these reactions have negative results. I recently found myself in a situation where my impetuousness ended with losing someone I considered a good friend. It all started over something so stupid. Emotions got involved and I reacted too quickly out of pain and insecurity. And yes, anger.

I honestly thought it would blow over and we would be able to work things out. I wasn’t the only one at fault in this situation, but it doesn’t matter. Reacting emotionally and quickly—being impetuous—cost me a friend. I’ve admitted my blame in the matter and sincerely apologized, but unfortunately the damage was done.

Good has come out of the situation, as it usually does when life’s circumstances are difficult. I won’t share what the “good” was, as it’s rather personal. I’m sorry it happened and wish I could go back and do things differently, but I wouldn’t change the lessons learned and the good that resulted from it.

Can I say I’ll never act impetuously again? No. I cannot promise that… like most people, I’m human. Will the sting of losing a friend make me think twice before I react out of fear, pain, or anger next time I’m in a similar situation? I think so. I hope so.

4 thoughts on “I is for Impetuous

  1. Perhaps, maybe, given a little time, this wound will eventually heal, and the friend you thought you lost just needed some space. But even if it doesn’t, then at least there was something good that came about, even if it came with pain.

    1. Thanks, Paige. I hope you’re right about eventually fixing things with this friend. But yes, if not, I’ll move on and embrace the good that came from it.

  2. Ugh. This one struck a chord with me. I recently went through a very similar situation with a friend. Hasty decisions and actions were made/done on both sides, and the end result just sucks. 😦

    I find it really difficult to look back on friendships that have ended and not over analyze the situation and stress over what I did wrong, could have done differently, etc.

    We need to get a drink together!!! 😉

    1. I’m sorry you went through that as well. Thanks for sharing that. I like to know that I’m not the only one when it comes to certain things. And absolutely about the drink! After we go huckleberry picking, though. 😀

Leave a Reply

