National Novel Writing Month & Me, Part 2

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerI mentioned in a previous post that I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month. I also mentioned that I am using the time to re-work a novel in progress—one I started over a year ago and put aside as editing jobs and homeschooling and life pulled me away.

I’ve been doing as planned, which is pretty much re-writing it. I’ve removed large chunks of unnecessary text. I added a character. Changed the character. Brought back a character I had decided to cut.

Things are going pretty well.

But I’m having trouble with the whole 50K word count thing. I’m spending a lot of my time deconstructing my story, then reconstructing it into what I’m trying to have it become. It’s hard to keep track of actual “words written” when doing this.

The NaNoWriMo’s 50K word count goal is a great motivator for many, and I include myself in this statement. I didn’t hit the 50K word goal last year and I didn’t mind. I wrote 33,000 words and I was proud of it. It would be an amazing feat for me to make it this year. And if I don’t, I’ll be okay with that too.

It’s not a matter of giving up. It’s a matter of being who I am. I can’t toss words onto a blank screen just for the sake of word count. I’ve heard the advice that writers should just write. Write and don’t worry about fixing it until you finish.

Maybe I’m doing it wrong by writing some, evaluating it, fixing what I don’t like, and then moving on. But for now, it’s a method I’m comfortable with.

I mentioned in my last NaNoWriMo update that I have a title for my book—finally! Since you’ve read this long, I’m going to assume you might be a little interested to know what it is. And even if you skipped most of the above and landed on this paragraph, you may take a peek.

Here you go:

unrest (1)

Cover by https://thurifut.wordpress.com/ The artist offered his/her services for free to NaNoWriMo authors. I’m not sure it will be the final cover since I already have another artist in mind, but I like it.

Here’s a synopsis, which is subject to change:

The world watched the aftermath of strategically placed terrorist attacks with a small amount of relief; it could have been worse. At least, that’s how it seemed. A week later, the world would know differently. With the release of the bombs’ biological agent, the death toll rose. And so did the dead.

In an attempt to keep one step ahead of the unrest, Kate and her niece, Finn, flee to the only sanctuary Kate has ever known: a small town in the mountains north of San Diego.

Their relative safety is put in jeopardy when drought-fueled wildfires spread across southern California, driving the hordes into the valley below. It’s only a matter of time before the dead act on instinct and seek their own shelter on the mountain. And when they do, where will Kate and Finn go? Is any place safe in a world of unrest?

Now it’s back to writing and re-writing. Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

