Alistair

A

I’m trying something new to me. For my A-Z Blog Challenge, I’m challenging myself to write a young adult story. No promises since work and life keep me pretty busy and I’m the slowest writer I know. Keep in mind this is a work in progress, a first draft, subject to many changes. I’m not looking for critiques, nor am I looking for praise. Read it if you want. Comment or don’t. In any case, I hope you enjoy it.

Alistair.

That is the name the Brothers gave me when they found me wrapped in lambswool and lying in an old woven-grass basket in the ancient apple orchard at the edge of the forest. Brother Phinneas said it was a name of strength and good character. Defender of men, young Alistair. A fine name for a boy.

I’m a girl.

I am one of the few girls left since the purge placed upon my people. The Purge. The cleansing of all females born to slaves during the rule of King Fendrel. According to the Brothers, he wasn’t the first king to order the murder of an entire generation of baby boys or girls based on a prophecy.

With almost two hundred years’ history as slaves, my people had been waiting a long time for their deliverer—a woman, barely out of childhood, who was to come from the North. She was to free her people and rid the land of the Hadithites. I  often wondered if the prophecy was true. Why hadn’t she come yet? How long must my people suffer?

My people. Who are my people? In truth, I didn’t feel like a part of any people. I was raised with the Brothers and they were the only people I felt connected to. We share the same ancestors, though they are descendants of the Cumbrian Tribe.

The Brothers are the keepers of events—both past and yet to come. With lives dedicated to recording history and foretelling the future, they are among the few in the land who can read and write. And these skills had been taught to their young apprentices since the first fall of civilization.

Feared by the Hadithites because of their ability to bring curses and plagues upon the land, the Brotherhood had been left to their own devices. I never saw any of the Brothers cast out curses or plagues, and when I asked Brother Phinneas about it, his answer was almost as baffling as the idea itself.

“Knowledge, my dear Alistair. Knowledge is magic to the ignorant and power over the weak.” He chuckled quietly as he rolled the parchment he had been working on.

I sealed the writing dye and gave that some thought. “If the Brothers have power through their knowledge, why don’t they take care of the Hadithites themselves instead of waiting for a Northland woman to do it?”

Brother Phinneas was used my questions and never grew angry at what some of the other Brothers called impertinence. “Because it’s been written that a girl will lead the way. We cannot force the hand of the Author of Life. That tactic always ends in catastrophe. History is proof of that.”

“But how do you know the prophecies are true, Brother Phinneas?” I had asked this question before and knew what his answer would be, but I asked again, hoping this time the answer would work some magic and convince me.

The old man rubbed his shaved head, as he was in the habit of doing before saying something he was passionate about. “History, child. The prophecies have always come to pass; why would I doubt those that have yet to be fulfilled?”

I wished I had his faith.

Copyright 2016, Sara A. Jones/ES Oakes

4 thoughts on “Alistair

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I’m not sure where the characters will lead this story, so it will be interesting for me to see.

  1. I like your challenge, mind if I do it also some time? I really love your idea. Looking forward in reading more of your challenge. 🙂

  2. Hi Sara. It’s interesting how I came across your blog. This special name led me to it. Obviously, there’s a story behind it. 😉 Keep writing this beautiful story.

Leave a Reply

